Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, it was looking to be pretty amazing……

But there was a catch I had not known about until talking with someone at my church. Apparently, on the website goarmy.com it says the following about the commitment for reserves soldiers who receive a scholarship for college:

Army ROTC students who receive an Army ROTC scholarship or enter the Army ROTC Advanced Course must agree to complete an eight-year period of service with the Army.

  • You can serve full time in the Army for three years (four years for scholarship winners), with the balance in the Individual Ready Reserve (IRR).
  • Selected Cadets may choose to serve part time in the U.S. Army Reserve or Army National Guard while pursuing a civilian career.

To me, it looks like it means that you CAN serve on active duty after being in school for 4 years, with the rest of the time being IR, because of the last bullet line. But it seems that that is far from true. I would assume that this is a way to somewhat deceive young people into coming into the reserves thinking they wouldn’t see combat (that wasn’t my concern, but I’m sure it is for others), and thereby taking a scholarship that would hold them to at LEAST 3 years of active duty and then another 4 years in reserves work which could very well be active duty.

I would instantly, in normal circumstances, think I was being a ditz and missed obvious information. But yo have to admit, that section of their website is confusing. That is also the only place on the website I found that explains (or doesn’t explain) the military commitment that comes with a scholarship. This now means that if I want my 4 year degree covered, I would then have to serve another 8 years in active and reserve. I would be 30 by the time I would get out of the army completely.

Now, aside from the fact that I’m irked by them not explaining this clearly on their website, that whole deal doesn’t seem to bad. Really, I would rightfully owe the army that much time for paying for school (I think anyways…), but sadly it does not fit with what God has already asked me to do with ministry work after (and during) college. So, perhaps the idea of the army was something I jumped on prematurely.

However, God did not open a door just to close it shut and leave me hanging. Honestly, I’m not sure why God opened this door at all. Perhaps it is to open the idea of ROTC, because it is still something I want to do, whether I enter into the reserves or not (probably won’t). God is opening other doors though. I am going to (as soon as my parents get their tax information) apply for FAFSA and as many grants and scholarships as I can. I was also recently offered a job for the summer, where I would go on a trip with a family friend and watch their little girl while they are on vacation. All of the expenses for this trip are paid for, and I walk away with $250. Which is amazing because it would be in June, right before I leave. That would buy me a decent printer.

So things are working out despite the disappointment of the timing of the army. Hopefully, things will get clearer as I go. But I’m in for a rough ride. The money in this world is Gods, and I know if I commit what I am doing to the Lord I will succeed, and He will provide for me what I need to get through it. Sometimes it just takes closing your eyes and letting Him lead you through- we simply cannot do it by ourselves.

