Tags

, , ,

This is a quote that I heard from a sermon on youtube. It is startling to be sure, and upon hearing it many aspects of my life were shot up in front of my face. This quote was spoken from a preacher, to preachers. And though, I cannot say I’m a preacher by degree or education or even because I’ve poorly named myself- but I CAN say that God has called me to speak.

As Christians we have taken on the responsibility of being a WITNESS. Just as someone who saw something amazing, or were there to watch a crime take place, we are given the responsibility to share what we saw. Whether its for an interesting story to tell someone, or to bring justice to someone deserving, witnesses carry quite the burden. Not only must the story be told with accuracy, but the story must be told- which is not always easy.

“You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD,
“and my servant whom I have chosen,
so that you may know and believe me
and understand that I am he.
Before me no god was formed,
nor will there be one after me.I, even I, am the LORD,
and apart from me there is no savior.

I have revealed and saved and proclaimed—
I, and not some foreign god among you.
You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD

-Isaiah 43:10-12

Because we are witnesses of God’s glory, His sacrifice and unending love. Because we believe in that which is written in The Word, we are witness to it. We believe, therefore we have seen. A prophet speaks of the present and future in relation to what has happened and has been said by God. Therefore, a prophet is a witness.

I may not be a preacher… but I am a prophet. Because I have believed and seen what has been, what is, and what will be. If you’re not a prophet you are nothing. Because if you are not God’s prophets, you are dead. If you are not for Him, you are against Him. Simple as that.

So… Are you a prophet?

